Answered By: I C
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2015     Views: 543

Once a rubric has been attached to an assignment it can be used for consistent marking and feedback for students. However, there may be occasions when you need to amend the rubric.

Rubric scorecards can be edited after creation. However, if the rubric scorecard has been used to score student papers, modification of the rubric scorecard will not be allowed unless the rubric is detached from the assignment.

Please note:  that changing or detaching a rubric will remove all existing rubric scoring from papers in the assignment, including scorecards which have previously been marked. Overall grades for previously graded papers will remain.

If you were the creator of the rubric and attached the rubric to the Turnitin Assignment link:

  • From the Control Panel choose Course Tools>Turnitin Assignments and select the relevant Turnitin Assignment link
  •  From the top menu, choose the Rubric Manager menu option
  •  The most recently accessed of your rubrics will be displayed.
  • Click the icon (looks like a bullet list)  in the top left corner to display options and select “Duplicate this rubric
  •  Enter the new name, make changes and click on "Save" to the bottom right of the screen.
  •  Re-attached the revised rubric to the Turnitin Assignment link

If another staff member created the rubric on your behalf and attached the rubric to the Turnitin Assignment link:

  • Open a submission from the Turnitin Assignment inbox
  • Click on the Rubric icon to the lower right (looks like a group of squares).
  • Click on the Rubric Manager icon (looks like a wrench) to the top right.
  • Click on the Detach Rubric icon (looks like a chain link) to the top right of the Rubric Manager. You will be shown a warning message saying that changing or detaching a rubric will remove all rubric scores from papers in the assignment.  Click OK and your rubric will be detached from the assignment.
  •  Click the icon (looks like a bullet list)  in the top left corner to display options and select “Duplicate this rubric
  • Enter the new name, make changes and click on "Save" to the bottom right of the screen.
  •  Re-attached the revised rubric to the Turnitin Assignment link. 
  • The revised rubric will be added to your profile.

Note: The rubric is only available from the creators' profile; however the rubric can still be accessed and imported into to your profile via a student submission.  To change or detach a rubric from within the Document Viewer is only possible after a submission has been made.

Related Topics

Contact Us